The Revolutionary Power of Love


It’s not the net worth of one’s life that’s important. It is the day to day concerns, the personal victories, and the celebration of life… and love! — Terra Branford, Final Fantasy 6

Hate has an interesting way of creeping into our lives. It’s such a powerful emotion and it can drive people to act in ways that they normally wouldn’t. I have struggled with hate for a long time and it has creeped sporadically back into my life, especially recently. Hatred is regressive and with hate being the basis of anything positive we will not progress. I have betrayed principles that made me become an anarchist in a first place and to that end… I am ashamed. I came into anarchism on a similar boat filled with rage and anger, hate for those I thought who killed my brother. It wasn’t until I started reading Jung and Tolstoy that I became a pacifist. Yes, I am morally a pacifist. I think Jung said it best: “Where love rules, there is no will to power; and where power predominates, there love is lacking. The one is the shadow of the other.” That is a very profound statement.  One that had a  very profound impact when he stated that people are the evil in the world.

Love is a very courageous thing to do. It’s easy to give in to hate and identify with it, it’s much harder to love. There will be those who will angrily howl with rage and destroy an inherently violent system. Violence begets violence. Hate begets hate. I’ve had enough violence and hate, I’ve had enough of bigotry and intolerance, and what we don’t have enough of is… love. My ancestors believed that frith is essential for communities. I happen to have written on this subject before and at this time I strongly agree that frith-weaving is a very revolutionary and powerful statement. What is frith weaving? You might ask. However, we understand this today as community building, we can call it mutual aid and solidarity all day long but it is what it is — frith weaving.

Frith weaving strengthens communities and empowers communities for a secure and peaceful society. This is observable. Look at small communities where everyone knows everyone, there tends to be a lot of community aid when something bad happens, there’s a lot of I’ll watch your back and you’l watch mine. The feeling of community is something that is revolutionary. The revolution always begins with you. We are familiar with this concept, and we call it prefigurative politics, “be the change that you want to see” and that is something that I think people ought to do. Opposing capitalism, bigotry, oppression, and the state does not mean it will be non-violent, I can accept that, but it doesn’t mean that I am non-revoluutionary — far from it! I can organize strikes, non-violent protests, organize mutual aid projects, work with children, and do other things that improves the love in a community.

~ by ladycat123 on November 7, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
